Dads and periods, they don’t go together… thank goodness for moms

I haven’t written a blog post in two years but I just had to write about one of the biggest milestones I can think of for Bella.  It rivals the first word and first step… it’s the first period.  Menstruation, monthly friend… it’s goes by many other names but I feel comfortable saying period.  I really don’t understand why it’s called a period although I can definitely think of a few reasons but won’t go into that right now.  I want to keep this about Bella and her becoming a young woman.

So to get this straight in my head, nature has now confirmed that my little girl (actually she’s not that little anymore, 9 almost 10 years old) is now of child bearing age.  CHILD BEARING!  No other group of words is as scary to a father of a daughter than “my little girl is of child bearing age.”  I can’t get passed those words.

It all started with a call from the other room from my wife.  It was all a blur after the explanation, she had to explain to me what just happened. THE PERIOD!  I didn’t know what to do, how I could help.  I did what any self-respecting dad would do, I left it up to my wife.  I know, what an awesome father… right? But really… what could I have done to make the situation any less traumatic for her?  I felt like swaddling her up, rocking her to sleep and telling her everything is going to be ok.  But I don’t think she would have gone for that.

As Bella got out of the bathroom she seemed fine.  She wasn’t freaking out or breaking down… she seemed normal.  What I forgot about was the fact that my wife, in all her wisdom, took Bella out for a girls weekend and spoke to her all about this stuff.  You know… lady stuff.  She prepared Bella for this moment and Bella handled it wonderfully.  I wish someone would have taken me on a retreat to prepare me.

So I gave Bella a hug.  A silent, solid hug that only a father can give his daughter to say I’m here for you if you need to freak out… even though I was the one freaking out.  And right before my eyes, Bella turned into a young woman.

Leave a Reply

